Clash of the Titans

charles-vs-lebron-post-up

AND IN THIS CORNER! That’s how I feel I should be starting this blog post. The war of words between Lebron James and Charles Barkley has sparked quite an outrage between all of the media outlets. If you are unaware of what has transpired within the past week, then you must be living under a rock. Don’t worry, I got you covered.

It all started last week when Charles Barkley said the following comments when asked about Lebron claiming that the Cavs need a playmaker: “Inappropriate. Whiny. All of the above. The Cleveland Cavaliers have given him everything he wanted. They have the highest payroll in NBA history. He wanted J.R. Smith last summer, they paid him. He wanted [Iman] Shumpert last summer. They brought in Kyle Korver. He’s [James] the best player in the world. Does he want all the good players? He don’t want to compete? He is an amazing player. They’re the defending champs.”

In the words of DaDa from Friday After Next, “BINGO!..I GOT ACTION”. Not only did these comments divide the nation, it even divided the hosts of the show Barkley was on. It led Shaq to telling Barkley that he doesn’t know what it’s like to go “back to back” before taking his stance of agreeing with Lebron’s comments about the Cavs needing another playmaker. It doesn’t end there though. Lebron who has been the target of a few of Barkley’s jabs over the years, finally decided to duck and counter with a haymaker. In response to Charles Barkley, Lebron told ESPN’s Dave McMenamin, “I won’t let Barkley disrespect my legacy like that”. Now picture a fist swinging as you read these words: “I’m not the one who threw somebody through a window. I never spit on a kid. I never had unpaid debt in vegas. I never said ‘I’m not a role model.’ I never showed up to All Star Weekend on Sunday because I was in Vegas all weekend partying”….and that’s just the half of it ðŸ‘ŠðŸ‘ŠðŸ‘ŠðŸ‘Š.

Now it’s no secret I’m a Lebron fan. In this instance, it’s not a matter of being a fan or who’s right or wrong. This is one man checking another man about their name. It’s one thing to be critical of a player’s poor play, turnovers, technicals, and other actions that effect the team during those 48 minutes on the floor. When you call a man whiny and use words that can almost epitomize your past career (inappropriate), I believe somebody can say something back to you. The word whiny doesn’t describe a jumpshot. People are saying Lebron got personal, but how personal are those facts if they were published in the media. In my opinion, the word personal only pertains to family and facts that were kept out of the media. Other than that, everything is fair game.

I think it’s safe to say these two will never be friends. 

 

Leave a Reply

